About the Salt Lake Valley Law Enforcement Service Area

In 2007 Salt Lake County leaders began the process of creating the Salt Lake Valley Law Enforcement Service Area (SLVLESA). The goal was to allow cities to join together to fund regional police services in a more coordinated and cost efficient manner. The SLVLESA does not provide law enforcement services; instead the SLVLESA provides a funding mechanism for police services. SLVLESA forwards revenue to the Unified Police Department (UPD), which provides law enforcement services to the unincorporated County and member cities. The UPD is responsible for all police operations.

The Salt Lake Valley Law Enforcement Service Area includes unincorporated Salt Lake County, Riverton City and Herriman City.

The efforts of the Service area and Unified Police Department are paying dividends as evidenced by Midvale City's decision to join the Unified Police Department in 2011 and Taylorsville City's decision to join 2012. All entities have saved money by Midvale's and Taylorsville's decisions to join and share administrative costs.

SLVLESA Leadership

The SLVLESA Board of Trustees includes Salt Lake County Council Members Jim Bradley and Michael Jensen, Salt Lake County Mayor Ben McAdams, Riverton City Council Member Trent Staggs and Herriman City Mayor Carmen Freeman..

SLVLESA Board Meetings

The SLVLESA Board annually adopts a meeting schedule as required by the Utah Open Meetings Act. All meetings are held at the Unified Police Department Building, 3365 South 900 West and begin at 10:00 a.m. The 2015 Regular Meeting dates are as follows:

  • January 15, 2015
  • February 19, 2015
  • March 19, 2015
  • April 16, 2015
  • May 21, 2015
  • June 18, 2015
  • No meeting in July
  • August 20, 2015
  • September 17, 2015
  • October 15, 2015
  • November 19, 2015
  • December 17, 2015
  • Subscribe to the Salt Lake Valley Law Enforcement Service Area Public Notice website by visiting www.utah.gov/pmn/. From the drop down lists choose:

    • Government: Special Districts:
    • Entity: Salt Lake Valley Law Enforcement Service Area
    • Public Body: Governing Board.

    2011 © Copyright * UPD * Salt Lake County Home Page * Contact Us